University Structure

Department of Information and Navigation Systems

Vladimir Peshekhonov
  • Office homepage
  • Go

In the summer of 1936 the Supreme Council of National Economy of the USSR has decided to organize the Department of Navigation Devices at the LITMO at the development of Fine Mechanics. Since the 1936/37 school year the training of engineers in “Navigation Devices” specialty is held.

In developing of the majors of the Department of Navigation Devices participated such prominent scientists and industry experts as Academician Alexey Krylov, professor Boris Kudrevich, Konstantin Ukhov, associate professor D. Ikonnikov and many others.

Throughout the years, the Department was headed by: Professor Konstantin Ukhov (1945-1962), the Lenin Prize winner professor Sergey Farmakovsky (1963-1970), professor Mark Sergeev (1970-1982), professor Vladimir Karakashev (1982-1991).

Currently, the Department is headed by the Doctor of Technical Sciences, professor, current member of the Russian Academy of Sciences , Lenin Prize winner Vladimir Peshekhonov, who, as the director of the State Research Center of the Russian Federation Concern CSRI Elektropribor, JSC, is the scientific director and chief designer of the large number of major developments in the field of marine instrumentation, the author of more than 100 scientific papers, the member of the Scientific Council of the Russian Academy of Sciences on motion control and navigation, the Departmentman of the Section of autonomous navigation and sensing elements.

In 1993 got the name of the Department of Control Devices and Processes.

In April 2003, the Department was renamed in the Department of Information and Navigation Systems.

Map Building plans

Content © 1993–2018 ITMO University
Development © 2014 Department of Information Technologies
General regulations of Information Use